BCW Awards

Each year, the BCW celebrates breastfeeding champions in our community with two different awards.

Nancy Danoff, MD, Spirit of Service Award

The Nancy Danoff, MD, Spirit of Service Award honors an individual’s dedication, leadership and fervor in promoting, protecting and supporting breastfeeding as an essential part of child, maternal, and community wellness. Like Dr. Nancy Danoff, a founding member of the BCW, this individual must uphold breastfeeding as a familial right and an important health issue.

Past award recipients include:

  • Stacy Hackenmueller (2016)
  • Melissa Bonghi (2015)
  • Judy Hulse, RN. IBCLC (2014)
  • Emily Healy, IBCLC (2013)
  • Michelle Sarju, LM, MSW (2013)
  • Lisa Whatley, RN, IBCLC (2012)
  • Kimberly Radtke (2011)

MaryAnn O’Hara, MD, Physician Leadership Award

The MaryAnn O’Hara, MD, Physician Leadership Award honors a medical student, resident or physician whose leadership in the medical field reflects a commitment to breastfeeding. Awardees demonstrate their commitment through advocacy of breastfeeding education, and their support of breastfeeding in the community and medical field.

Award recipients include:

  • Jody Cousins, MD (2015)
  • Katrina Gardner, MD (2014)
  • Julie Taraday, MD (2013)
  • Jade McGaff, MD (2012)
  • Isabella Knox, MD, EdM (2011)

To nominate an individual for either award, please email Alex Sosa with the individual’s name, role in the community, why you think they deserve this recognition, and their contact information.

Past Spirit of Service Award recipients